MEC Race Series, Recipes and Good Riddance to January

This morning I had my first race in the series of five this year put on by Mountain Equipment Coop.  It was supposed to be a 10k race, that was what I had registered for.  However, the flu, lack of sleep due to my babies having the flu and the icy trail conditions led to a 5k.  I had all intentions this morning of still doing the 10k but when I got 4k in, I knew I was quickly running out of steam.  It was a 5k loop that was to be repeated and when I saw the finish line at the first 5k I knew I was crossing it.

Normally when I have to cut a run or a workout short I feel like I have let myself down and I am disappointed in myself.  Not today.  Sometimes you just have to listen to your body.  I knew I still had a 45 minute strength workout to complete when I got home and there was no way I could do both.  I am totally happy with finishing the 5k in 30:28.  Definitely not a great run time for me, but given the circumstances I will take it and be happy with it.  You win some and you lose some.  Keep on trucking (or running in this case) 😉

I was so happy to be in such great company for my run today.  Brittany and Lindsay were both at the run with me.  Brittany and I are pretty much on par for running times and were both severely sleep deprived due to our children today, so we stuck it out together.  Honestly, I love running with a partner.  It just makes it that much better.

Lindsay, is so much faster than me.  She placed in the top 5 out of 363 and won top female.  I aspire to her slow time 😉  She is an inspiration to me.  She sets a time she wants to hit and she makes it.  Every time.  She is competitive and humble at the same time.  I can’t wait to cheer her on again at the next race!

I couldn’t wait to get back home and snuggle my babies today.  Sundays have always been family and food days for me.  Comfort at its best.  I got my strength workout in while they napped and then with one baby in the carrier and the older one helping, we prepped some yummy food for supper.  Roasted cauliflower, sweet potatoes and baked chicken breasts.  We love desserts in this house and nothing tops chocolate.  Chocolate is good any day, any time.  In moderation of course, hehe.

This is the recipe we tried out today, it is actually pretty good.  It reminds me more of fudge than brownies.  Either way, it filled the need for chocolate.  I added two tablespoons of walnut pieces to the top before baking them.  I like texture in my food.  Nuts, seeds, anything with a crunch to it.  They worked out to about 77 calories per brownie if you cut them into 16 portions.  Not bad, no added sugar and lots of healthy fats.

Healthy 3 Ingredient Flourless Brownies

On another note, I would like to say ‘so long January!’.  I am so over you!  lol.  What is it about this month?  Every year I struggle through it.  It’s just kind of blah.  My eating is all over the place, my mood is kind of blah and I just feel tired.  I am welcoming February with open arms ❤  So much more to look forward to this month.  My oldest daughters birthday, Valentine’s Day (which my husband is actually home for this year), date night and I have courses to attend.  I love to be busy ❤ Speaking of which, we started Mommy and Me dance classes yesterday through the East Coast Dance Academy.  So much fun!  I love being able to do fun activities with my girls.  I can’t wait to go again next week.

Here are a few race pics from today of myself, Brittany and Lindsay.  Lindsay is the one without the hat on.  My lack of sleep shows.  Somedays I fantasize about sleeping again.  Good thing these babies of mine are so darn cuddly and cute ❤

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

