Marathon for Marilou

IMG_3879

What an awesome run for such a great cause!  This was the fifth annual Marathon for Marilou.  It was my first time running it but I can guarantee I will be back next year.  It was a balmy -6 this morning (brrr) when we met up at 845am.  The picture above was a quick warm up led by race organizers before we hit the trail.  Such a great crowd!  Such energy and so many smiling faces despite the chilly temps. That’s me closest to the camera with the little blonde ponytail sticking out, trying to keep warm 🙂

I had no expectation of time going into this run, I knew the trail was snow and ice covered and that with such a large group it would be a little congested and slow moving.  However, once we got moving we made our way towards the front of the pack and stuck with it the whole run.  There were probably only a dozen runners in front of us.  One thing about running in an orgainzed event is that it gives you that extra push to keep moving.  There were four of us from our running club that stuck together throughout the run and finished in 1:02:23.  I am more than happy with that 🙂

It is always nice to take part in local organized events, you get to meet so many new people.  This morning I met an organizer of a local trail running club and will be joining them for a trail run either this week or next.  I can’t wait!  There were about 30 woman there from our running club also.  This running club was started by a friend of mine and within the first two weeks we had over 200 members.  At the first run, over 60 ladies showed up to run together.  Pretty amazing.  I don’t know what it is, but I get almost emotional when I see that many people joined together with a common interest, putting one foot in front of the other.  I remember being pregnant and crying when we drove by a marathon in progress.  I was emotional anyway and I just wanted to be out there running so badly.  It takes such dedication and is such a accomplishment to run in any race.

Here are a few pictures from the race this morning, as you can see the trail is pretty rough.  Lots of ice and uneven surfaces.  But the scenery is beautiful and the company was awesome.  I can’t wait to lace up and get out again!  When you are dressed for it, winter running is pretty great 🙂

Leave a comment